Different Types of Crabs

10 Different Types of Crabs Nayturr


Crabs belong to the crustacean family and have over 4500 species. They vary in size from the Pea Crab which is 0.27 to 0.47 inches in length to the Japanese Spider Crab that spans 12 feet from claw to claw. These invertebrates are omnivores and consume algae, fungi, bacteria, other crustaceans, mollusks, and worms.

Learn more!

Light Yellow Arrow

Different Types of Crabs


Bairdi Crabs

Bairdi crabs have short tails and are very specialized. They have five pairs of legs, the first one containing pincers, and a body that is made mostly of a shell or a carapace that has a small abdominal flap.


Blue Crabs

The Latin name for blue crabs means “beautiful swimmer,” and the name suits it well because it is a beautiful, blue-green-colored crab. Found quite frequently on the Eastern coast of the United States


Coconut Crabs

Also called a robber crab or a palm thief, the coconut crab is the largest land-living arthropod in the world, getting up to nine pounds in weight and up to sixteen inches long.


Dungeness Crabs

Dungeness crabs are very large, usually weighing from 1.75 to 4 pounds, and they have a color that is purplish-brown. They are found in the waters from Alaska to the Baja area of Mexico


Hermit Crabs

Hermit crabs are usually purchased as pets for children because they are fun to play with and very small. There are roughly 1,100 species of Hermit crabs, divided into seven different families.

Other Stories

Can Two Trees Fuse And Grow Together?

18 Most Dangerous Rainforest Animals